The Griffith Insurance Education Foundation Presents Charles Chamness With 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award

Charles Chamness, retired president and chief executive officer of the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies, was presented with The Institutes Griffith Insurance Education Foundation’s 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award during a ceremony at the NAMIC Annual Convention on Sept. 20 in Nashville, Tenn. The award recognizes industry leaders for their commitment to education and their support of the missions of both The Griffith Foundation and NAMIC.

Chamness served as president and CEO of NAMIC from 2003 through July 2021. Under his leadership, NAMIC grew to become one of the largest property/casualty insurance trade groups with a diverse membership of more than 1,500 local, regional, and national member companies.

“Chuck has been an incredible steward for NAMIC and the property/casualty insurance industry for decades. I admire his dedication to education and the NAMIC member companies. I’m proud to have this Lifetime Achievement Award presented to someone I consider not only a professional colleague, but also a friend,” says Peter Miller, president and CEO of The Institutes and President of the Griffith Foundation’s Board of Directors.

“Chuck has been an incredible leader for NAMIC,” says Neil Alldredge, president and CEO of NAMIC. “He guided this organization for more than twenty-five years through some turbulent times for the property/casualty insurance industry with grace and wisdom. His leadership and vision are the epitome of what a leader should be.”

In addition to his work at NAMIC, Chamness has been active on many boards, including serving a three-year term as board chair of the St. Baldrick’s Foundation, an organization that funds pediatric cancer research grants. During his time as chair, the organization raised more than $100 million. Chamness also served as a board member of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and is a member of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Association Committee of 100 and the Indiana University Foundation Board of Associates.